vegan snack ideas, things similar to surimi

This has been x-posted to veganpeople just fyi.

I think I can feel my body lacking in protein, and a while back I was teaching ESL in Japan where it is nearly impossible to be vegetarian. To them, seafood isn't even meat, so I'd sometimes have to do with some surimi or even if I would order vegetarian rice / noodle, it always came in fish sauce or broth.

I admit I miss surimi but I've been away from all meat/seafood etc for so long now, I think having it would make me sick. But maybe it's the texture I crave. Would you guys recommend tofu, tempeh, even those vegan cheese and tofurkey slices?

Thanks so much you guys, and I really appreciate the support!
Simpsons

Leather headphones?

It's a long shot but ...


Beats by dre solo HD headphones ... are the earpieces made of leather?
I'm googling my brains out and sniffing them like a weirdo and can't figure it out!

HELP!
  • Current Mood
    curious curious

Gravy Mix

A friend of mine gets old but not expired food from Denny's, which means I have been getting lots of free green beans which is great, but he always brings home this brown gravy mix that has absolutely no ingredient list anywhere on the Denny's website. I have been checking everywhere for a few weeks now. Can anyone point me in the right direction? I am really really hoping it's just like Bisto.

Thanks!
Delray's Finest

Joint Juice

Hi y'all.

I was going to get a free sample of this stuff, but I wanted to know if it's vegan. They claim to use vegetarian sources of glucosamine, so don't worry about that one =].

Ingredients:

Glucosamine Hydrochloride, Citric Acid, Natural Flavor, Sodium Citrate, Contains 2% or less of: Sodium Bicarbonate, Potassium Citrate, Silicon Dioxide (to prevent caking), Sucralose, Vitamins and Minerals (Niacinamide, D-Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin B6 [Pyridoxine Hydrochloride], Vitamin B12 [Cyanocobalamin]), Acesulfame Potassium, Yellow 5.

Yeah, and I know the 'natural flavor' ingredient is suspect as well, right?
radioactivecake

general mills re: betty crocker frostings (they have no information)

>Original Message From: supercarrot
>
>Originated by Consumer hi. i was wondering if you have a list of your products which are vegan? i'm specifically interested in your frostings and cake/brownie mixes. i noticed in the rich & creamy frostings that there were monoglycerides and natural flavors? i understand about cross contamination. as long as the machines are cleaned between uses, that's fine. trace ingredients are fine. (and sugar source is low on the totem pole. we can't expect every food manufacturer to source sugar which hasn't been processed through bone char.) thank you in advance.

Dear Valued Consumer:

Thank you for contacting General Mills. Your comments are important to us.

We are committed to making a difference in the lives of our consumers. Feedback such as yours is important to the nature of our business.

I am sorry, we do not keep a list of vegan products.

I appreciate your loyalty and the time you took to contact us. Please be assured that I will share your thoughts with the appropriate individuals.

Sincerely,

Pat Frances
Consumer Services
mushroom

Fred Meyer brand bagels

So there are no ingredients listed anywhere on the bag. The only thing it says is:

"Allergens: Nuts, soy, wheat, eggs, milk, wheat, almonds

May come in contact with peanuts and treenuts."

I can't tell if they're saying that the bagels contain all the things in the first line and just possibly come in contact with nuts... or if they're just listing off all the allergens that have to be pointed out in the first line just for fun, and the second line is what it might contain. Does that make sense? I can only assume that the actual list of ingredients was in the store/on a shelf somewhere, but I dumpstered these.

Hansen's Soda

Hey all! I don't know if this has been posted already, but I sent an email to Hansen's Soda company to ask if their soda was vegan. And it is! Yay! Here is the correspondence:

From me to Hansen's:
Product line interested in: Soda
Specific Product: Hansen 's Rootbeer

How can we help you? I wanted to know if your soda is vegan. I know it is made with cane sugar, which is sometimes refined using filters made of animal bones. Do you use vegan cane sugar? Thanks!

From Hansen's to me:
Thanks for visiting the Hansen website.

We use no animal bi-products in any of our Hansen products line. Enjoy!!

Thank you,

Umallah at Hansen